Favorable Results in Prince George’s Local Races

Primary elections in Prince George’s County held on June 26 produced winning candidates who, in most cases, should be good for AOBA members to work with for the next four years.  In cases where AOBA’s PAC provided support, the candidates prevailed.

 The most important victory was the decisive victory of Angela Alsobrooks (pictured above) for   County Executive in a nine member field.  We have worked closely with Ms. Alsobrooks for the past   four years and look forward to her leadership in forming a County administrative team in the   upcoming term.

 We also look forward to working with the members of newly-expanded County Council, which will   include a majority of new members:

  • At Large Members
    – Mel Franklin and Calvin Hawkins won their primaries for the newly-created At Large Council seats in a nine member field. AOBA’s PAC had strongly supported Franklin based on his Council service the past eight years.  Hawkins has been a member of County Executive Rushern Baker’s staff for several years.

  • District 1 – Former Council member Tom Dernoga defeated Laurel Mayor Craig Moe.
  • District 2 – Incumbent Deni Taveras edged Hyattsville Mayor Candace Hollingsworth.
  • District 3 – AOBA’s PAC supported incumbent Dannielle Glaros, who was unopposed.
  • District 4 – AOBA’s PAC supported incumbent Todd Turner, who was unopposed.
  • District 5 – AOBA’s PAC supported former Delegate Jolene Ivey, who won overwhelmingly.
  • District 6 – AOBA’s PAC supported incumbent Derrick Leon Davis, who won overwhelmingly.
  • District 7 – Council staff member Rodney Streeter is clinging to a nine vote lead over Krystal Oriadha before absentee and provisional ballots are counted.
  • District 8 – Monique Anderson-Walker, a commercial real estate broker, won in a five member field.
  • District 9 – Sydney Harrison, current Clerk of the Circuit Court, has a 47 vote lead over Tamara Davis Brown before absentee and provisional ballots are counted.