Emerging Leaders Council


The mission of the Emerging Leaders Council is to support and enrich the goals of AOBA while providing a platform to  shape the development, encourage mentorship and advance the next generation of AOBA members.

AOBA launched the Emerging Leaders Council (ELC) for property management professionals, with three to 10 years of property management experience, in 2019. The ELC meets quarterly to develop professional development seminars, networking opportunities, and connections with local leaders. Each member of the ELC commits to:

  • A two-year term
  • Attend at least two out of the four quarterly  ELC meetings per year
  • As a group, plan at least one professional development program per year
  • Participate as a junior member on at least one AOBA committee, preferably a government affairs committee
  • Attend the Annual Meeting and at least one additional AOBA special event per year
  • Support at least one AOBA-sponsored community outreach activity per year
  • Engage and educate others about AOBA’s mission
  • Recruit new members to AOBA

By joining AOBA's Emerging Leaders Council, representatives agree to be actively involved in AOBA's mission to protect and enhance the value of its members’ investments through effective leadership, advocacy, information exchange and professional development. 

2020 Emerging Leaders Council:

Demi Alvarado Assistant Property Manager Boston Properties
Vaiva Anuzis Assistant Property Manager Brookfield Properties
Marcellius Banks Assistant Building Manager Blake Real Estate, Inc.
Jessica Biggs Senior Property Manager Monday Property Services, LLC
Matthew Borger Project Development Manager Borger Management
Michael Borger (Co-Chair) Property Manager Borger Management Inc.
Casie Cutlip  Assistant Property Manager Brookfield Properties
April Falchek Senior Property Manager Akridge
Kristoffer Green Vice President Comstock Companies
Adrian Gross Property Manager WC Smith
Tiesha Hackley Property Manager Brookfield Properties
Anne Elyse Hayes Regional Manager Gates Hudson & Associates
Destiny Igiebor Deputy Director of Operations Scott Management
Gerry Jackson, Jr. Property Manager Berkshire Communities
Ryan King Property Manager JBG Smith
Luke Lanciano Compliance Administrator Bernstein Management Corporation
Benjamin Lincoln  Property Manager Monday Property Services, LLC
Arshia Malik Assistant Property Manager JBG Smith
Lewis Shapiro (Co-Chair)   Property Director, Broker Shapiro & Company Property Management
Jessica Tavares Property Manager Greystar
Nancy Umanzor-Perla Resident Manager Bernstein Management Corporation
Brett Voeltz   Property Administrator Brandywine Realty Trust
Cory Watkins Senior Property Manager JBG Smith