2020 Engineer of the Year Awards

Recognizing outstanding work by individuals who are critical to the successful operation of our commercial office buildings 

Veterans of our industry realize that our pace is fast, our business is competitive, and our expansion is bottom line driven, however without our talent force, our work would be impossible. It is with that sentiment in mind, AOBA remains one of the few organizations in the region, to offer an exclusive opportunity to honor our region's highly skilled commercial property engineers.

Since 2014, the Commercial Engineer of the Year Award program has recognized the outstanding work of those behind our commercial office buildings' success, and your engineers remain critical in today's market. Their work not only adds to efficient operation, but it also impacts guest experience as the demand for expertise in building physics and systems for new buildings, (and existing buildings) constantly increases.

Simply put, skilled commercial engineers deserve recognition for the increased utilization of their capacity. Have you nominated an engineer for 2019 recognition? If not, don't miss this phenomenal opportunity to highlight their vital work. The Engineer and K.E.E.P awards will be presented at the 2019 Commercial Awards Celebration on June 13, 2019. 

Click on the Building or Maintenance Tech nomination form to download and forward to Peggy Jeffers by March 22, 2019.  Engineer award judging will take place mid-April. The three individual Engineer award categories are based on the following criteria:

Minimum 3 years of experience at a supervisory level

Works for a current AOBA-member firm

Serves as on-site engineer (or may cover multiple buildings)

Does not work at the Executive / Regional engineer level

Over 5 years of experience as a building engineer.

Works for a current AOBA-member firm.

1-5 years of experience as an entry-level maintenance technician or maintenance mechanic.

Works for a current AOBA-member firm. 

2019 Engineer Awards Committee:  (Chair) Bill Atkinson, Boston Properties, Skip French, MRP Realty, David Greenspun, Blake Real Estate, James Parrotte, JBG Smith,  Jennifer Rappe, East Banc, Ted Ross, TRC Engineering, (2019 Co-Chair) Steve Stover, Brookfield.

2018 Chief-Lead Engineer Jim Parrotte, JBG SMITH 
receiving award from Bill Atkinson, Boston Properties 

2018 Engineer Award

Chief/Lead Engineer:  2018 Winner - James Parrotte, JBG SMITH

Chief/Lead Engineer:  Honorable Mention - David Greenspun, Blake Real Estate, Inc.

2017 Engineer Awards 

Chief/Lead Engineer:  2017 Winner - Mike Keely, CBRE 

Building Operating Engineer: 2017 Winner - Michael Morgan, Brookfield

Maintenance Technician/Maintenance Mechanic - 2017 Winner: Charley Chavez, Boston Properties

2016 Engineer Awards 

Commercial Chief/ Lead Engineer of the Year Award: Luis Miranda, Vornado/Charles E. Smith 

Commercial Building Engineer/Maintenance Technician Award:  Dwayne Walker, S.C. Herman & Associates 

2015 Engineer Awards

2015 Commercial Chief/ Lead Engineer of the Year Award : Bob Pimentel, Chief Engineer, Vornado/Charles E. Smith;
2015 Commercial Operating Engineer Award: Rene Munoz, Building Engineer, Akridge 

Watch this brief video to learn more about this award and our previous nominees, shown at the 2014 TOBY Awards.

Please contact Peggy Jeffers at (202) 296-3390 ext 765 with any questions regarding these awards.