Get involved with AOBA by participating on a Committee and by supporting AOBA staff when advocacy issues require member input.  Your engagement is critical to our success!

Get Involved

Interested in making the most of your membership? Consider joining a committee or participating in a Political Action Committee.

Please contact the staff member listed for details about how to participate, and please note that 2019 Committees and briefings are open to AOBA members in good standing only.

Associates Coalition Team

Staff: Jeanne Clarke

Mission: To support AOBA by determining best ways to improve the overall Associate member experience while working to advance AOBA's mission.

Meetings: As needed

Community Outreach Committee

Chairperson: Anthony Curtis, Classic Concierge, Inc. 

Staff: Jeanne Clarke

Meetings: Held as needed at AOBA

Community Outreach Programs

Commercial Engineer Awards Committee

Chairperson: Bill Atkinson, Boston Properties

Staff: Annabel Bendz

Mission: To plan for the yearly award process which acknowledges outstanding commercial engineers who are vital to the day-to-day operations of members’ office buildings.

Meetings: Held as needed.

District of Columbia Government Affairs Committee

Co-chairs: Chad Cooley, Bozzutto Management Company 

Staff: Kirsten Williams

Mission: To keep members informed of any regulatory and legislative developments relating to their ability to conduct business in the District of Columbia.

Meetings: Held quarterly at AOBA.

District of Columbia Tax Policy Committee

Chair: Scott Heppe - William C. Smith + Co.; Vice Chair: David Fuss - Wilkes Artis, Chartered

Staff: Kirsten Williams

Mission: To keep members informed of any tax-related regulatory and legislative developments pertaining in the District of Columbia. The Committee's task includes monitoring issues relating to real property tax appraisals and appeals and the various taxes paid by businesses operating in the District.

Meetings: Held quarterly at AOBA. 

Emergency Preparedness Committee

Chair: Matt Smith, JBG SMITH

Staff:  Annabel Bendz

Mission: To enhance emergency preparedness within the commercial real estate industry, working collaboratively with public safety agencies in Northern Virginia, Suburban Maryland, and the District of Columbia. This will be achieved through private/public partnerships, information sharing, and the proactive dissemination of relevant information to AOBA members regarding current or forthcoming events impacting the region, as appropriate. The Committee serves as AOBA's key point of contact for emergency preparedness planning, protocols, best practices and lessons learned.

For helpful links, visit our Emergency Preparedness page.

Meetings: Held quarterly; Educational Program held each September

Golf Tournament Committee

Chairperson: Dani Bressler,  Toepfer Construction Co., Inc 

Staff: Annabel Bendz

Mission: To organize and plan for AOBA's Annual September Golf Tournament

Meetings:  Approximately six planning committee meetings prior to the event.

Maintenance Mania Committee

Chairperson: Elisabeth Kirk, TRC Engineering

Staff: Jeanne Clarke

Mission: Maintenance Mania is a national program offered by NAA in which maintenance technicians compete against each other in various skill-based games. AOBA hosts this event each Spring.

Meetings: Held as needed

Maryland Government Affairs Committee

Chairperson: Harald Mangold, Scott Management, Inc.

Staff: Ron Wineholt

Mission: To provide input and guidance to AOBA government affairs staff in establishing positions on Maryland legislative and regulatory issues that impact members.

Meetings: Held Monday afternoons in January and February.

TOBY Awards Committee

Chairperson: Kathryn Clement, JBG SMITH

Staff:  Annabel Bendz

Mission: To remain current on all aspects of local TOBY Awards  program; promotion of entries; regular review of standards and judging procedures.

Meetings: Held as needed in AOBA's Conference Room

Utility Briefings

Staff: Frann Francis

Mission: To keep members updated on information pertaining to the cost of utilities, electricity, gas and water. AOBA staff and consultants provide information on pending rate applications, including surcharges, class allocations and changes in rate design. Members are also updated on proposed and potential changes in laws and regulations which would impact their costs of energy, as well as on energy markets. The goal of these briefings is to help members understand the process by which their utility and energy costs are determined, in conjunction with the status of energy markets, in order to help members prepare their budgets.

Meetings: All members are invited to Utility Briefings, held periodically in AOBA's Conference room.

Virginia Government Affairs Committee

Chairperson: Shawn Kyle, Lerner Enterprises

Staff: Brian Gordon

Mission: To provide input, direction, guidance and assistance to AOBA government affairs staff in the development and implementation of a comprehensive legislative and regulatory agenda advocating for the interests of commercial and multifamily rental property owners and managers in Northern Virginia.

Meetings: Check with staff on meeting dates and details.

Political Action Committees

Please contact Nicola Whiteman for more information about the AOBA PACs listed below:

District of Columbia Political Action Committee

Chairperson: Peter Bonnell - The UIP Companies

Maryland Political Action Committee

Chairperson:  Jared Gigliotti, Southern Management Corporation 

Virginia Political Action Committee

Chairperson: TBD