Coronavirus: Click the image below to learn more about AOBA's changes

Did You Nominate A Commercial Engineer?

Posted By: Akidah Felder (deleted)


As most in the commercial property management industry will agree, engineers are critical to the successful operation of our buildings.  Established in 2014, the Commercial Engineer of the Year Award program recognizes outstanding work by the key individuals behind our commercial office buildings' success.  As part of the Commercial Awards evening, the engineer awards are presented to the engineering professionals who are vital to the successful operation of our buildings. 

The Engineer, TOBY and K.E.E.P awards will be presented at the 2019 Commercial Awards Celebration on June 13, 2019. Scroll down for Nomination Forms and note that t
he three Engineer award categories are based on the following criteria:
  • Chief-Lead Engineer

Minimum 3 years of experience at a supervisory level

Works for a current AOBA-member firm

Serves as on-site engineer (or may cover multiple buildings)

Does not work at the Executive / Regional engineer level

  • Building Engineer

Over 5 years of experience as a building engineer.

Works for a current AOBA-member firm.

  • Maintenance Tech or Maintenance Mechanic

1-5 years of experience as an entry-level maintenance technician or maintenance mechanic.

Works for a current AOBA-member firm.


Please click on the individual nomination form to apply. 
Note: The nomination deadline is March 22, 2019.  

2019 Chief-Lead Engineer Nomination Form (Closed)

2019 Building Engineer Nomination Form

2019 Maintenance Tech or Maintenance Mechanic Nomination Form

2019 Engineer Awards Committee:  (Chair) Bill Atkinson, Boston Properties, Skip French, MRP Realty, David Greenspun, Blake Real Estate, JamesParrotte, JBG Smith,  JenniferRappe, East Banc, Ted Ross, Ted Ross Consulting, (2019 Co-Chair) Steve Stover, Brookfield.


2018 Chief/Lead Engineer Jim Parrotte, JBG SMITH 
receiving award from Bill Atkinson, Boston Properties 

2018 Engineer Award

Chief/Lead Engineer:  2018 Winner - James Parrotte, JBG SMITH

Chief/Lead Engineer:  Honorable Mention - David Greenspun, Blake Real Estate, Inc.

2017 Engineer Awards 

Chief/Lead Engineer:  2017 Winner -Mike Keely, CBRE 

Building Operating Engineer: 2017 Winner -Michael Morgan, Brookfield

Maintenance Technician/Maintenance Mechanic - 2017 Winner: Charley Chavez, Boston Properties

2016 Engineer Awards 

Commercial Chief/ Lead Engineer of the Year Award: Luis Miranda, Vornado/Charles E. Smith 

Commercial Building Engineer/Maintenance Technician Award:  Dwayne Walker, S.C. Herman & Associates

2015 Engineer Awards

2015 Commercial Chief/ Lead Engineer of the Year Award : Bob Pimentel, Chief Engineer, Vornado/Charles E. Smith;
2015 Commercial Operating Engineer Award: Rene Munoz, Building Engineer, Akridge


Watch this brief video to learn more about this award and our previous nominees, shown at the 2014 TOBY Awards.

Please contact Annabel Bendz at (202) 296-3390 ext 763 with any questions regarding these awards.