Montgomery County Leadership Update

The Montgomery County Council will be on recess until January 11.  Learn more about the council membership by viewing councilmembers at a glance.

New Council Committee Leadership/Membership includes: 

Planning, Housing, and Economic Development (PHED) Committee
Hans Riemer (At Large), Chair
, Andrew Friedson (District 1), Will Jawando (At Large) 

Transportation & Environment (T&E) Committee
Tom Hucker (District 5), Chair, Hans Riemer (At Large), Evan Glass (At Large) 

Government Operations & Fiscal Policy (GO) Committee
Nancy Navarro (District 4), Chair
, Andrew Friedson (District 1), Sidney Katz (District 3) 

Public Safety (PS) Committee
Sidney Katz (District 3), Chair,
Gabe Albornoz (At Large), Tom Hucker (District 5) 

Health & Human Services (HHS) Committee
Gabe Albornoz, Chair,
Evan Glass (At Large), Craig Rice (District 2) 

Education & Culture (EC) Committee
Craig Rice (District 2), Chair,
Will Jawando (At Large), Nancy Navarro (District 4)

Also, County Executive Marc Elrich took the oath of office on December 3.  Elrich identified Andrew Kleine as Chief Administrative Officer and former state senator Richard Madaleno as his budget director. He has reappointed the following directors who will remain in their current positions: 

  • Scott Goldstein – Fire and Rescue Service
  • Thomas Manger – Police
  • Eric Friedman – Consumer Protection
  • Al Roshdieh – Transportation
  • Alex Espinosa – Finance
  • Melanie Wenger – Intergovernmental Relations
  • Robert “Bob” Dorfman – Liquor Control
  • Robert Green – Correction and Rehabilitation