David Meyer Wins Special Election for Fairfax City Mayor

Headlines ,

Fairfax City Council member David L. Meyer won a special election Tuesday night to replace Scott Silverthorne as Mayor of Fairfax City after his August resignation and will serve out the rest of his term, which expires in July 2018.

Meyer won the nonpartisan mayoral election with 1,644 votes, compared to fellow Council members Eleanor D. Schmidt, who received 1,190 votes, and Michael J. DeMarco, who acquired 943 votes. Meyer, who was serving out his fifth term on the Fairfax City Council, will be scheduling a special election for his now vacant council seat.

Meyer plans to meet with Fairfax City developers to discuss revitalization plans, long-term solutions for traffic concerns and local housing trends. “Fairfax is undergoing a major generational change with its population,” Meyer said. “It will help us decide how we position the city for the next generation.”